Fascination for emptiness

Not so long ago I visited the Death Valley and, against my natural inclinations, I decided to get up well before the crack of dawn, to see the sun rise at Zabriskie Point. I did not know exactly what to expect from the experience, and at the time I was too sleepy to think about it.

I just got into the car and drove in the dark to reach the place. I walked to the top of the hill and joined the ten people that were already there, waiting and chatting softly.
It was dark and chilly, but comfortable.
The light yellow rocks reflected some light, so I could make out their shape, their rolling waves crossed by a dark ‘river’ of stones.

Then the light started changing and it got clearer, everyone went shutter happy and you could hear technical discussions about aperture, lenses and shutter speed, but I tried not to listen to the human voices and just take in the sound of the blowing breeze.

And then the sun finally came and it was a fast show of light and shadows on the rolling landscape below.
It was so beautiful and strange. I was struck, and I still am, I didn’t want to leave, I could have stayed there for the whole day, just looking down.
So I came back two more times during the day, and the view was always the same and always different.
I do not understand why I am so attracted by that place: there is nothing. No trees, no bushes, no animals that you can see. It’s barren, and it’s clear that it’s not suitable for life, but still I would like to go back, I would like to live nearer to be able to go there more often. I would like to be there now.

20130306-221421.jpg

20130306-221506.jpg

20130306-221549.jpg

20130306-221615.jpg

20130306-221639.jpg

20130306-221726.jpg

20130306-221811.jpg

Leave a Reply

